Related Overviews


'pañcalakṣaṇa' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Hinduism


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A classical list of five ‘distinguishing marks’ (lakṣaṇas) which are supposed to represent the contents of a Purāṇa: ‘creation’ (sarga), secondary ‘creation’ (pratisarga), genealogy (vaṃśa), the reigns of the Manus (manvantaras), and the history of the patriarchs of the lunar and solar dynasties (vaṃśānucarita).

Subjects: Hinduism.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.