Stephen Paulus

(b. 1949)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b Summit, NY, 1949).

Amer. composer. Founded Minn. composers' forum 1973, acting as managing composer until 1984. Comp.‐in‐res. Minnesota Orch. 1983–7, Atlanta SO 1987–91. Comps. incl. 9 operas (The Village Singer, 1977; The Postman Always Rings Twice, 1981, orch. suite 1986; The Woodlanders, 1984; Harmoonia, 1990; The Woman of Otawia Crossing, 1995; The Three Hermits, 1997; Summer, 1999; Heloise and Abelard, 2002; Hester Prynne at Death, 2004); Concerto for Orch. (1983); Symphony in 3 Movements (1985); vn. conc. (1987); Symphony for Strings (1989); 2 str. qts.; conc. for vn. and vc. (1994); Partita Appassionata, vn., pf. (1996); Art Suite, vc., pf. (1999); Fanfare: UNM 150, brass quintet (2000); King David's Dance, org. (2002); Erotic Spirits, sop., orch. (2004); Above Me, Round Me Lie, ch., org. (2004); A Heartland Portrait, bar., pf. (2005); and choral pieces.

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.