Treaty of Roskilde

'Treaty of Roskilde' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • World History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


A treaty between Sweden and Denmark, named after a port in eastern Denmark. After the defeat of Frederick II of Denmark by Charles X of Sweden, this treaty expelled the Danes once and for all from the Swedish mainland: they surrendered Halland, Scania, Blekinge (provinces), and the island of Bornholm, as well as the Norwegian territories of Trondheim and Bohuslän. Bornholm was regained in 1660.

Subjects: World History.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.