Dmitri Shostakovich

(1906—1975) Russian composer

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(b St Petersburg, 25 Sept. 1906; d Moscow, 9 Aug. 1975)

Soviet composer. He wrote three ballet scores: The Golden Age (chor. Kaplan, Vainonen, Tchesnakov, and Jacobson, 1930), The Bolt (chor. Lopukhov, 1931), and The Bright Stream (chor. Lopukhov, 1935). These were seminal in their treatment of contemporary subject-matter but at the time were criticized by the Soviet authorities for their ‘incorrect’ representation of class issues and, in the case of Bright Stream, inappropriate use of classical forms. Much of Shostakovich's concert music has also been adapted for dance, including the 7th Symphony (chor. Massine in Leningrad Symphony, New York, 1945, and by Belsky, Leningrad, 1961); the 10th Symphony (chor. Maldoom, in Overture 2012, London, 2008), 1st Piano Concerto (chor. Cranko in The Catalyst, Stuttgart, 1961 and Wheeldon in Mercurial Manoeuvres, New York, 2000); the 2nd Piano Concerto (chor. MacMillan in Concerto, W. Berlin, 1966, and by Mitchell in Fête noire, New York, 1971); the Cello Sonata in D minor (chor. Morris, in Vestige, minus the 1st movement, Spokane, 1984); various pieces in Béjart's Trois études pour Alexandre (Paris, 1987), the 3rd String Quartet (chor. Alston, Tremor, London 2001), and the 9th String Quartet (chor. Henri Oguike, Front Line, 2002).

Subjects: Music.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.