'Sittidae' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Zoology and Animal Sciences


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

; class Aves, order Passeriformes)

A family that comprises the one genus Sitta, although Tichadromadidae and Daphaenosittidae are sometimes placed in this family. Nuthatches are small birds, most of which have blue-grey upper-parts and a black crown or eye stripe. They have short tails, strong feet, and a long, pointed, tapering bill. They inhabit woodland and rocky areas, and climb up and down trees and rocks to feed on insects, spiders, seeds, and nuts. They nest in tree and rock cavities. There are 21 species found in Europe, Africa, Asia, and N. America.

Subjects: Zoology and Animal Sciences.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.