Annie Smithson

(1873—1948) author and nurse

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1873–1948), novelist. Born in Dublin. She briefly practised in Ulster in 1901 before settling in Dublin as a district nurse. The elaborately romantic plots of her highly popular novels—nineteen in all—were built on elements of her own experience, including a protracted and painful involvement with a married doctor. Her women heroes are strong and noble-minded in novels such as Carmen Cavanagh (1921), The Walk of a Queen (1922), The Laughter of Sorrow (1925), The Light of Other Days (1933), and The Weldons of Tibradden (1940). Political loyalty to Ireland provides the main interest in books such as Margaret of Fair Hill (1939) and By Shadowed Ways (1943). Myself and Others (1944) is an autobiography.

From The Concise Oxford Companion to Irish Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.