Related Overviews


More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • History
  • Warfare and Defence


Quick Reference

(South-East Asia Treaty Organization)

A defence alliance formed in 1955 specifically to withstand Soviet aggression in Asia, it was formed by Australia, New Zealand, the USA, Thailand, the Philippines, France, Pakistan, and the UK. However, the signatories refused to intervene collectively in the wars of Vietnam, Laos, and Cambodia, and in 1975 the weak alliance was dissolved.

Subjects: History — Warfare and Defence.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »