International Association of Athletics Federations

Related Overviews


'International Association of Athletics Federations' can also refer to...


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Sport and Leisure


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The world governing body of athletics, formerly the International Amateur Athletics Federation. It was founded in 1912 by seventeen national members, in Stockholm, Sweden, in the year of the Stockholm Olympics, to standardize the athletic programme and equipment, and monitor and approve world records. By 2008 membership had risen to 213. It began to approve payments to athletes when introducing the trust fund scheme in 1982, and dropped the word ‘amateur’ when changing its name in 2001. From 1912 to 2009, the federation had had only five presidents: Sigfrid Edström of Sweden, 1912–46; Lord Burghley (1905–81) from England, 1946–76; Adriaan Paulen (1902–85) of the Netherlands, 1976–81; Primo Nebiolo (1923–99) of Italy, 1981–99; and Lamine Diack (b. 1933) of Senegal, from 1999. Nebiolo moved the IAAF headquarters to Monaco in 1993. The IAAF stages ten regular athletics events, including the World Championships and the World Indoor Championships every two years; annual events include the World Athletics Final, and cross-country and half-marathon championships. The switch from the 64-year-long rule of the patricians Edström and Burghley to an African leadership pledging to ‘benefit millions of youngsters around the world’ is a reflection of the changing global politics of sport.

http://www.iaaf.org/ The site of the world governing body for athletics, providing news, calendar, results, statistics, and links.

Subjects: Sport and Leisure.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.