Related Overviews

Philip Hobsbaum (1932—2005) poet and literary scholar

Edward Lucie-Smith (b. 1933)

Peter Porter (b. 1929) Australian poet

George Macbeth (1932—1992) writer and radio broadcaster

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An informal association of writers, mostly poets, set up in London by Philip Hobsbaum in 1955. Membership was by invitation of the chairman. The key figures included Redgrove, P. Porter, Lucie‐Smith, and G. MacBeth. Lucie‐Smith became chairman in 1959, and the group expanded to include F. Adcock, B. S. Johnson, and others. An anthology of the Group's writings, edited by Hobsbaum and Lucie‐Smith, appeared in 1963 (A Group Anthology). In 1965 the Group was restructured into a more formal organization called the Writers' workshop, but its basic purpose, to expose the work of young writers to their peers, remained constant.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.