Chard Powers Smith


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1894–1977), New York-born author, who lived in New England, whose poetry includes Along the Wind (1925), The Quest of Pan (1930), Hamilton: A Poetic Drama (1930), and Prelude to Man (1935), an epic on evolution. Artillery of Time (1939) and Ladies' Day (1941) are novels depicting degradation in the U.S. during the second part of the 19th century. Turn of the Dial (1943) treats the corruption of radio advertising. The Housatonic (1946) is part of the Rivers of America series, and Where the Light Falls (1965) is a study of Edwin Arlington Robinson.

From The Oxford Companion to American Literature in Oxford Reference.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.