Fundamentalist Theology

Robert G. Clouse

in The Oxford Handbook of Eschatology

Published in print December 2007 |
Published online September 2009 | | DOI:

More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Religion
  • Philosophy of Religion
  • Christianity


Show Summary Details


As a historical movement, evangelicalism developed in the United States from the revivals of the eighteenth century and became the leading force in the nation in the nineteenth century. Since then the movement has gone through four major phases. The first period can be dated from 1870 to the end of World War I (1919), when evangelicalism was arguably the controlling force in the country. The antecedents of contemporary fundamentalism during this period remained in the major denominations but rejected the liberal accommodation to modern thought. The second stage of fundamentalist historical development occurred from 1919 to 1926, the third from 1926 to about 1945, and the fourth from the mid-1940s to the present. This article examines fundamentalist theology and discusses eschatology and the Christian Right, Tim LaHaye and the Left Behind series, and progressive dispensationalism.

Keywords: United States; evangelicalism; fundamentalism; theology; Christian Right; Tim LaHaye; Left Behind series; progressive dispensationalism

Article.  8314 words. 

Subjects: Religion ; Philosophy of Religion ; Christianity

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.