Minoan Pottery

Birgitta Hallager

in The Oxford Handbook of the Bronze Age Aegean

Published in print January 2012 | ISBN: 9780199873609
Published online September 2012 | | DOI:

Series: Oxford Handbooks in Archaeology

 Minoan Pottery

More Like This

Show all results sharing these subjects:

  • Classical Studies
  • Greek and Roman Archaeology
  • Classical Art and Architecture


Show Summary Details


Major subsequent modifications and revisions have been made to Arthur Evans's pottery sequence, but his suggested tripartite division of the Neolithic period and the Minoan period is still by and large in use. Most scholars are also using a parallel, broader, and more simplified division of the Minoan era: the Prepalatial, Protopalatial, Neopalatial, Final palatial, and Postpalatial periods. Only the most important novelties and characteristic traits in each period are highlighted in this article, and it must be emphasized that “a specific period is defined not only by the exclusive presence of certain features but by the fact that some wares are common while others are just beginning or ending their periods of greatest popularity.”.

Keywords: Arthur Evans; pottery sequence; Neolithic period; Minoan; Prepalatial; Protopalatial; Neopalatial; Final palatial; Postpalatial

Article.  4784 words. 

Subjects: Classical Studies ; Greek and Roman Archaeology ; Classical Art and Architecture

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.