Taisoo Park

in Taxonomy and Distribution of the Calanoid Copepod Family Heterorhabdidae

Published by University of California Press

Published in print April 2001 | ISBN: 9780520098428
Published online March 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780520916029 | DOI:

Show Summary Details


This section notes that the family Heterorhabdidae was erected by Sars (1902) to accommodate the genera Heterorhabdus Giesbrecht 1898 (published in Giesbrecht and Schmeil 1898), Haloptilus Giesbrecht 1898, and Augaptilus Giesbrecht 1889. It further notes that Sars (1905) added Disseta Giesbrecht 1889 and a new genus, Mesorhabdus, to the Heterorhabdidae and the transferred Haloptilus and Augaptilus into a new family, the Augaptilidae. It reports that Sars (1925) recognized in the Heterorhabdidae the following five genera: Disseta, Heterorhabdus, Mesorhabdus, Hemirhabdus Wolfenden 1911, and Heterostylites Sars 1920. It further reports that Brodsky (1950) subdivided the genus Heterorhabdus into two subgenera—Euheterorhabdus (Heterorhabdus) and Paraheterorhabdus. It notes that in this review of the Heterorhabdidae, Heptner (1972b) described two new genera (Microdisseta and Neorhabdus) for the Heterorhabdidae bringing the number of genera of the family to seven. It notes that Grice (1973) described Alrhabdus johnrdeae, which he referred provisionally to the Heterorhabdidae.

Keywords: Heterorhabdidae; Sars; Heterorhabdus; Giesbrecht and Schmeil; Haloptilus; Augaptilus; Augaptilidae; genera; Brodsky; Heptner

Chapter.  885 words. 

Subjects: Zoology and Animal Sciences

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.