<i>George Gershwin's Song-Book</i> (1932)

Howard Pollack

in George Gershwin

Published by University of California Press

Published in print January 2007 | ISBN: 9780520248649
Published online May 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780520933149 | DOI:
George Gershwin's Song-Book (1932)

Show Summary Details


In 1932, Random House published George Gershwin's Song-Book, which was dedicated to Kay Swift. It contained eighteen songs: “Swanee,” “Nobody but You,” “Stairway to Paradise,” “Do It Again,” “Fascinating Rhythm,” “Oh, Lady, Be Good!,” “Somebody Loves Me,” “Sweet and Low-Down,” “That Certain Feeling,” “The Man I Love,” “Clap Yo' Hands,” “Do, Do, Do,” “My One and Only,” “'S Wonderful,” “Strike Up the Band,” “Liza,” “I Got Rhythm,” and “Who Cares?” This chapter on Gershwin's Song-Book considers some of the wide uses of the Gershwin songbook on record, on film, and in theaters.

Keywords: Random House; Kay Swift; Song-Book; George Gershwin

Chapter.  5978 words. 

Subjects: American Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.