Russian Originals, De- and Re-Edited

Richard Taruskin

in On Russian Music

Published by University of California Press

Published in print December 2008 | ISBN: 9780520249790
Published online May 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780520942806 | DOI:
Russian Originals, De- and Re-Edited

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Musicology and Music History


Show Summary Details


This chapter presents the Third Concerto in the three-movement form that Chaikovsky intended, before Taneyev's and Siloti's attack. The recordings of the Second Concerto, the Fantaisie de Concert, and the Allegro in c minor were likewise based on careful study of Chaikovsky's original, unpublished manuscripts. All the information given is documented fact, and a wealth of further evidence could be brought forward to demonstrate the inaccuracy of Professor Taruskin's arguments, which seem to be based on secondary material. The chapter also examines Chaikovsky's original sketches, diaries, and correspondence. Perhaps Professor Taruskin should have looked at some of this material before he leapt into print with a mixture of ill-informed supposition, ahistorical assertion, and bad-tempered bluster.

Keywords: Third Concerto; Chaikovsky; Fantaisie de Concert; Chaikovsky's original manuscripts; Russian Originals; Polina Vaidman; Lyudmila Korabelnikova

Chapter.  5459 words. 

Subjects: Musicology and Music History

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.