The Rising Soviet Mists Yield Up Another Voice

Richard Taruskin

in On Russian Music

Published by University of California Press

Published in print December 2008 | ISBN: 9780520249790
Published online May 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780520942806 | DOI:
The Rising Soviet Mists Yield Up Another Voice

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Musicology and Music History


Show Summary Details


This chapter focuses on the Soviet composer of Jewish origin Mieczyslaw Weinberg and a recital of his music by cellist Yosif Feigelson. The recital included the U.S. première of Weinberg's Twenty-four Preludes for Unaccompanied Cello (op. 100). Weinberg was born in a family of a Jewish violinist and theater composer in Warsaw, Poland and fled to Minsk, Soviet Russia in 1939, where he studied music. Later, he fled to Tashkent, where he composed a ballet called Fighting for the Fatherland, and also a symphony, which he dedicated to the Red Army. The chapter further offers information on the music career and life of the composer from the 1940s to the 1970s. By 1992, Weinberg was the author of seven operas, twenty-one symphonies, seventeen string quartets, a host of concertos, and much else besides. For most of his career, Weinberg, like most Soviet composers of his generation, remained hidden, as far as the West was concerned, in the colossal shadow of his friend, composer Dmitry Shostakovich.

Keywords: Mieczyslaw Weinberg; Soviet composers; Fighting for Fatherland; Dmitry Shostakovich; Yosif Feigelson

Chapter.  1676 words. 

Subjects: Musicology and Music History

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.