Prize Proliferation

Joel Best

in Everyone's a Winner

Published by University of California Press

Published in print July 2011 | ISBN: 9780520267169
Published online March 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780520948488 | DOI:
Prize Proliferation

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Social Research and Statistics


Show Summary Details


The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) began awarding Edgar Awards (named for Edgar Allan Poe) in 1946. These seem to have been the first annual prizes for outstanding mystery or detective fiction. Britain's Crime Writers' Association (CWA) began offering its won awards in 1955. The award programs for both the MWA and CWA are more than fifty years old, and both have expanded a good deal during that period. The categories in both cases for which awards are given have shifted but generally increased. This is the process of prize proliferation, whereby the number of public awards grows. Prize proliferation occurs throughout society: government agencies, private business, schools, and other organizations all seem to be presenting growing numbers of awards; these prizes may honor either the group's own members or outsiders, and they recognize all manner of accomplishments by all sorts of people.

Keywords: prizes; Edgar Awards; prize proliferation; organizations

Chapter.  8104 words.  Illustrated.

Subjects: Social Research and Statistics

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.