Luke Ferretter

in Sylvia Plath's Fiction

Published by Edinburgh University Press

Published in print July 2010 | ISBN: 9780748625093
Published online September 2012 | e-ISBN: 9780748671694 | DOI:

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Show Summary Details


The introduction gives a chronological survey of Plath's fiction, published and unpublished. It divides her short stories into the following chronological groups – 1: Juvenilia (1946–50). 2: College Stories to 1953 (1950–53). 3: College Stories (1954–55). 4: Cambridge Stories (1956–57) 5: Boston and Yaddo (1958–59). 6: British Women's Stories (1960–62). The composition and publication details of each story are established here, often for the first time, as well as some of the major plot details. Next, the introduction provides a similar account of all three novels on which Plath worked: Falcon Yard, based on her Cambridge experience; The Bell Jar; and the novel she left unfinished at her death, Double Exposure.

Keywords: Sylvia Plath's short stories; Sylvia Plath's novels; Smith College; Cambridge University; Boston; Yaddo; Falcon Yard; The Bell Jar; Double Exposure

Chapter.  6949 words. 

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.