Remembering the Names

Fritz Oehlschlaeger

in The Achievement of Wendell Berry

Published by University Press of Kentucky

Published in print May 2011 | ISBN: 9780813130071
Published online September 2011 | e-ISBN: 9780813135731 | DOI:
Remembering the Names

Show Summary Details


This chapter offers a discussion of Wendell Berry's five short novels, namely Andy Catlett: Early Travels, Nathan Coulter, A World Lost, Remembering, and The Memory of Old Jack. Andy Catlett is devoted to Andy's visit to his Catlett grandparents and his stay, immediately following, with his other grandparents, the Feltners. Nathan Coulter focuses on its title character's coming of age, a process marked by the early death of his mother, a violent break with his brother, Tom, the even more violent break between his father and brother, and finally the death of his grandfather. A World Lost shows the way a child responds to the death of a beloved other through narration. Remembering tells the story of Andy's losing his own adult world and finding it again. Finally, The Memory of Old Jack is the story of one who has lost nearly everything yet gained it again by living it deeply and well.

Keywords: Wendell Berry; Andy Catlett: Early Travels; Nathan Coulter; A World Lost; Remembering; The Memory of Old Jack

Chapter.  20524 words. 

Subjects: History of the Americas

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at University Press of Kentucky »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.