M.A. in Philosophy, 1949–1952

in Richard Rorty

Published by University of Chicago Press

Published in print May 2008 | ISBN: 9780226309903
Published online March 2013 | e-ISBN: 9780226309910 | DOI:
M.A. in Philosophy, 1949–1952

Show Summary Details


When Richard Rorty started the masters program at the University of Chicago in 1949, he entered a philosophy department that sat in many ways at odds with national trends. In a field increasingly defined by logical positivism, the university maintained an eclectic orientation. Although the department had changed some since its makeover by Robert Maynard Hutchins in the early 1930s, the appointments made then helped set the tone of the department for years to come. On the eve of Hutchins's move to Chicago, tenured department members included Edward Scriber Ames, E. A. Burtt, George Herbert Mead, Arthur Murphy, T. V. Smith, and James Tufts. Ames, Burtt, Mead, and Murphy were all supporters of John Dewey. It is therefore no surprise that when Hutchins approached Tufts about the possibility of appointing the explicitly anti-Deweyan Adler, along with Richard McKeon, Scott Buchanan, and V. J. McGill, Tufts, after consultation with other department members, demurred.

Keywords: Richard Rorty; masters program; University of Chicago; logical positivism; Robert Maynard Hutchins; Edward Scriber Ames; E. A. Burtt; George Herbert Mead; Arthur Murphy; James Tufts

Chapter.  8626 words. 

Subjects: Philosophy

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.