Susana Onega

in Jeanette Winterson

Published by Manchester University Press

Published in print June 2006 | ISBN: 9780719068386
Published online July 2012 | e-ISBN: 9781781701126 | DOI:

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Show Summary Details


This chapter presents an introduction to the life and works of Jeanette Winterson. Winterson was born in Manchester on 27 August 1959 and brought up in the nearby mill-town of Accrington, Lancashire, by her adoptive parents, Constance and John William Winterson, in a strict Pentecostal Evangelist faith. Her novel Oranges Are Not the Only Fruit was published in 1985 and earned the Whitbread First Novel Award. In 1990, Oranges was made into a TV drama, winning two BAFTA awards (for Best TV Drama Series and for Best Actress) and the Prix d'argent for Best Script in 1991. Winterson's work has been placed in one or other of the boxes labelled ‘lesbian fiction’ or ‘postmodernist fiction’. However, the writer rejects both qualifications, particularly that of ‘lesbian writer’, and insists that she expects to be called simply ‘a writer’, as male authors usually are.

Keywords: Jeanette Winterson; women writers; women authors; lesbian fiction

Chapter.  6651 words. 

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.