Exploring Craceland

Philip Tew

in Jim Crace

Published by Manchester University Press

Published in print October 2006 | ISBN: 9780719069123
Published online July 2012 | e-ISBN: 9781781701232 | DOI:
Exploring Craceland

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Show Summary Details


This book focuses on Jim Crace's novels and their major inclinations and themes, including the narrative neo-Darwinian impulse in humankind; mythic and parabolic understandings and symbols that persist despite modernity; belief and the self; death and love; the problematic dialectic of the individual within communities; urban realities countering bucolic or pastoral myths; and humankind's place within the greater evolutionary scheme of nature. Crace's major published works consist of Continent (1986), The Gift of Stones (1988), Arcadia (1992), Signals of Distress (1994), The Slow Digestions of the Night (1995), Quarantine (1997), Being Dead (1999), The Devil's Larder (2001), Six (2003) and The Pesthouse (2007).

Keywords: Jim Crace; novels; belief; self; death; love; humankind; nature; Being Dead; Quarantine

Chapter.  14334 words. 

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content.