Reference Entry

Medal of Freedom, African American Recipients of the Presidential

in African American National Biography

Published in print January 2006 | ISBN: 9780195301731
Medal of Freedom, African American Recipients of the Presidential

Show Summary Details


1963Marian AndersonRalph Bunche1964Lena F. EdwardsLeontyne PriceA. Philip Randolph1969Duke EllingtonRalph EllisonRoy WilkinsWhitney M. Young Jr.1976Jesse Owens1977Martin Luther King Jr.1980Clarence M. Mitchell1981Eubie BlakeAndrew Young1983James Edward CheekMabel Mercer1984Jackie Robinson1985Count BasieJerome H. Holland1988Pearl Bailey1991Colin Powell1992Ella FitzgeraldLeon H. Sullivan1993Arthur AsheThurgood MarshallColin Powell1994Dorothy HeightBarbara Jordan1995William T. Coleman, Jr.John Hope FranklinA. Leon Higginbotham1996John H. JohnsonRosa Parks1998James L. Farmer1999Oliver W. Hill2000Marian Wright EdelmanJesse JacksonGardner C. Taylor2002Hank AaronBill CosbyRoberto Clemente2004Edward Brooke2008Benjamin Carson2009Joseph LowerySidney Poitier2011Maya AngelouJohn LewisBill Russell1973Roberto Clemente1977Marian Anderson1982Joe Louis1984Roy Wilkins1988Jesse Owens1991Colin Powell1998The Little Rock Nine1999Rosa Parks2003Jackie RobinsonDorothy HeightJoseph A. DeLaineHarry BriggsEliza BriggsLevi Pearson2004Martin Luther King, Jr.Coretta Scott King2006Tuskegee Airman2008Edward William Brooke, III

Reference Entry.  114 words.  Illustrated.

Subjects: History

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Buy this work at Oxford University Press »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or purchase to access all content.