IUCN management category

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Categories for the management of protected areas which were developed by the IUCN (World Conservation Union) and are widely used around the world. The ten categories are: Category I, Scientific Reserve/Strict Nature Reserve; Category II, National Park; Category III, Natural Monument/Natural Landmark; Category IV, Managed Nature Reserve/Wildlife Sanctuary; Category V, Protected Landscape or Seascape; Category VI, Resource Reserve; Category VII, Natural Biotic Area/Anthropological Reserve; Category VIII, Multiple‐Use Management Area/Managed Resource Area; Category IX, Biosphere Reserve; Category X, World Heritage Site.

Subjects: Environmental Science.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or purchase to access all content.