superior court

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Any of the higher courts of the legal system, whose jurisdiction is not limited, for example, by geography or by value of the subject matter of the claim and whose decisions have weight as precedents. In English law, the superior courts are the House of Lords, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Crown Court, together with the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council. Decisions of superior courts are not subject to judicial review by the High Court. Compare inferior court.

Subjects: Law.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.