Mavis Gallant

(b. 1922)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1922– ),

Canadian short‐story writer, born in Montreal. She had a difficult childhood during which her father died, and her mother remarried and emigrated, leaving her in the care of strangers. A background of loss and displacement is reflected in many of her stories, notably the Linnet Muir sequence. She was a reporter and started writing fiction, some of which was accepted by the New Yorker, then moved to Paris, which became her main home. Her first book of short stories, The Other Paris (1956), was followed by many others including My Heart is Broken (1964), The Pegnitz Junction (1973), Across the Bridge (1993), Selected Stories (1996), and Paris Stories (2002). Brittle, witty, precise in observation, and crammed with ideas, her serio‐comic stories of rootless expatriates, abandoned lovers, and pretentious young men are also informed by a deep sense of politics and history.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.