Archibald MacLeish


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


American poet and dramatist. He was one of the American expatriates in Paris in the 1920s, and was strongly influenced by Pound and T. S. Eliot. His volumes of verse include The Pot of Earth (1924); The Hamlet of A. MacLeish (1928); New Found Land (1930); the narrative poem Conquistador (1932); and his Collected Poems, 1917–1933 (1933). Among his verse dramas are Panic (1935), the anti‐totalitarian The Fall of the City (1937), and the successfully staged J. B. (1958), an updating of the trials of Job.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by Archibald MacLeish