James Stephens

(1882—1950) poet and novelist

Related Overviews

George William Russell (1867—1935) journalist, poet, and agricultural economist

James Joyce (1882—1941) writer

Dáibhí Ó Bruadair (c. 1625—1698) poet

Arthur Griffith (1871—1922) political journalist and president of Dáil Éireann

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


'James Stephens' can also refer to...

James Stephen (1758—1832) lawyer and slavery abolitionist

James Stephens (1825—1901) Fenian leader

Stephen, James

Stephens, James

Stephens, James

Stephen, James

Stephens, Olin James (1908)

Sir James Fitzjames Stephen (1829—1894) judge and writer

Sir James Stephen (1789—1859) civil servant

Edward James Stephens (1846—1931)

James Brunton Stephens (1835—1902) poet

James Francis Stephens (1792—1852) entomologist

Stephen James Napier Tennant (1906—1987) aesthete

Stephen James Lake Taylor (1910—1988) physician and politician

Olin James Stephens (b. 1908)

To James Fitzjames Stephen

To Sir James Stephen

To Sir James Stephen

To Sir James Stephen


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


Irish poet and story writer whose best‐known work is the prose fantasy The Crock of Gold (1912). His volumes of verse include Insurrections (1909) and Collected Poems of 1926 and 1954. His first novel, The Charwoman's Daughter (1912), was followed by The Demi‐Gods (1914) and Deirdre (1923). Many volumes of stories include Irish Fairy Tales (1920) and Etched in Moonlight (1928).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Works by James Stephens

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.