Matthew Sweeney

(b. 1952)

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1952– ),

Irish poet, born in Co. Donegal and moved to England in 1973, where he now lives. His six collections include A Dream of Maps (1981), A Round House (1983), The Lame Waltzer (1985), Blue Shoes (1989), and Cacti (1992). Early influences from Kafka and the American poet Simic are detectable in the development of Sweeney's strange, often sinister, territory. His storytelling gifts, however, are firmly rooted in the Irish tradition, and the narrative voice, at once disquieting and seductive, is highly original. The Bridal Suite (1997) is laced with an obsession with mortality, to which his work almost inevitably returns. His Selected Poems were published in 2002.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »