Reference Entry

Schalk, Franz

Deryck Cooke

in Oxford Music Online

Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630 | DOI:

Show Summary Details


(b Vienna, May 27, 1863; d Edlach, Sept 3, 1931). Austrian conductor. A pupil of Bruckner at the Musikverein Konservatorium, he became first conductor at the Vienna Hofoper in 1900, under Mahler’s directorship; he conducted the first performances of Korngold's Der Schneeman (1910) and the revised version of Ariadne auf Naxos (1916). In 1918 he became director of the Hofoper, jointly with Richard Strauss, of whose Die Frau ohne Schatten he conducted the first performance in 1919; and on Strauss’s resignation in 1924, he was in sole control until 1929. He conducted at the Metropolitan Opera during the 1898–9 season, and at Covent Garden in 1898, 1907 and, when his Ring cycles were particularly admired, in 1911. In 1924 he conducted the first performance of movements from Mahler's Tenth Symphony (in Krenek's edition). Schalk and his elder brother Josef, who had also studied under Bruckner, were among the earliest champions of their master’s symphonies, though they presented them in unauthentic versions prepared by themselves and others. Franz’s influence is manifest in the first edition of the revised version of no.3 (...

Reference Entry.  316 words. 

Subjects: Contemporary Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.