Reference Entry

Smetana Quartet

Alena Němcová

in Grove Music Online

Volume Grove Music Online, issue Published in print January 2001 |
Published online January 2001 | e-ISBN: 9781561592630

Show Summary Details


Czech string quartet. It was formed in 1945 by Jaroslav Rybenský (b Bojanov, 12 Jan 1923; d Teplice, 19 Feb 1997) and Lubomír Kostecký (b Ostrava, 5 June 1922), violins; Václav Neumann (b Prague, 29 Oct 1920; d Vienna, 2 Sept 1995), viola; and Antonín Kohout (b Lubná, nr Rakovník, 12 Dec 1919), cello; they were all students in J. Micka’s class at the Prague Conservatory. Their début was at

Reference Entry.  410 words. 

Subjects: Music

Full text: subscription required

How to subscribe Recommend to my Librarian

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.