Related Overviews

George Edward Moore (1873—1958) philosopher

E. M. Forster (1879—1970) novelist and essayist

Arthur Henry Hallam (1811—1833)

Lytton Strachey (1880—1932) biographer and literary reviewer

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literary Studies (20th Century onwards)


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

An exclusive intellectual society formed in Cambridge in 1820, for the purpose of friendship and formal discussion. During the 19th‐cent. members included A. Hallam, Tennyson, Milnes, and R. C. Trench, and the 20th cent. saw a new age of brilliance, largely inspired by the influence of G. E. Moore, with members such as Keynes, Strachey, B. Russell, L. Woolf, and E. M. Forster. Members are elected for life.

Subjects: Literary Studies (20th Century onwards).

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.