Confederate States of America

Related Overviews

Civil War

Jefferson Davis (1808—1889)

Abraham Lincoln (1809—1865) American Republican statesman

Robert E. Lee (1807—1870) American general

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Military History


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

Also called the Confederacy. the eleven southern states (Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia) that seceded from the United States in 1860 and 1861, thus precipitating the Civil War.


Subjects: Military History.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.