European Coal and Steel Community

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


The first of the European Communities, established by the Paris Treaty (1951) and effective from 1952. The ECSC created a common market in coal, steel, iron ore, and scrap between the member states, and it coordinates policies of the member states in these fields. The Treaty expired in July 2002 after 50 years in force. The original members were Belgium, France, West Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands. These six countries, in 1957, signed the Treaty of Rome setting up the European Economic Community. See European Community.

Subjects: Law — Social Sciences.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.