Georgian Poetry

Related Overviews

Harold Monro (1879—1932) poet and bookseller

Rupert Brooke (1887—1915) poet

D. H. Lawrence (1885—1930) writer

Sir Edward Howard Marsh (1872—1953) civil servant and patron of the arts

See all related overviews in Oxford Index » »


More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Literature


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

A series of five volumes of verse planned by R. Brooke, H. Monro, and E. Marsh which appeared between 1912 and 1922, edited by Marsh and published by Monro at the Poetry Bookshop. The early volumes brought a fresh vision and manner into the tired poetry of the time. Writers represented in the first volume included Brooke, W. H. Davies, Masefield, D. H. Lawrence, de la Mare, Abercrombie, Bottomley, and Drinkwater. Later volumes contained the work of Blunden, R. Hodgson, Sassoon, Robert Graves, and Rosenberg. The poems of quality were fewer in the volumes of 1919 and 1922; several poets (including Graves, Sassoon, and Blunden) objected to being identified as ‘Georgian’, in the company of J. C. Squire, Baring, and other traditionalists; and the term acquired a pejorative sense. Pound, T. S. Eliot, and the Sitwells attacked the entire series, though about half of the poets represented are now of high repute.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.