Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

More Like This

Show all results sharing this subject:

  • Economics


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


An international organization set up to assist member states to develop economic and social policies to promote sustained economic growth with financial stability. OECD members have been mainly free-market industrialized countries: in Europe this includes Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the UK. Outside Europe the OECD includes Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Turkey, and the United States. Mexico became the first of the newly industrialized countries to join, in 1993, and the Czech Republic the first former planned economy to join, in 1995.

Subjects: Economics.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »