Philip Pullman

(b. 1946) English author

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

(1946– ),

born in Norwich and educated at Exeter College, Oxford. He was a teacher before becoming a full‐time writer. His books are published for children but are much read by adults. He is best known for his trilogy ‘His Dark Materials’, consisting of Northern Lights (1995), The Subtle Knife (1997), and The Amber Spyglass (2000, the first children's book to win the Whitbread Book of the Year Award). The series, set in multiple worlds, is at the same time an epic fantasy, an exploration of philosophy and religion, and a love story. Pullman is often compared to C. S. Lewis, although he is a vehement critic of Lewis's work. His other works include The Firework‐Maker's Daughter (1995), I Was a Rat! (1999), and the ‘Sally Lockhart Quartet’: The Ruby in the Smoke (1985), The Shadow in the North (originally published as The Shadow in the Plate, 1986), The Tiger in the Well (1990), and The Tin Princess (1994).

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.