Mary Roberts Rinehart


Show Summary Details

Quick Reference


born in Pittsburgh, established herself as a leading author of mystery stories with her first books, The Circular Staircase (1908) and The Man in Lower Ten (1909). The former was dramatized with Avery Hopwood as The Bat (1920). She continued to write popular stories of horror and crime detection, as well as several plays and a series of humorous novels whose heroine is the eccentric old maid “Tish.” My Story (1931, revised 1948) is her autobiography.

Subjects: Literature.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »