solar System

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The sun, the major planets (Mercury, Venus, earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune) and their natural satellites, the dwarf planets, and the asteroids, the comets, and meteoroids. Over 99% of the mass of the system is concentrated in the sun. The solar system as a whole moves in an approximately circular orbit about the centre of the Galaxy, taking about 2.2 × 108 years to complete its orbit. See Solar System.

http://ssd.jpl.nasa.gov/?bodies Data for the solar system from NASA/JPL

Subjects: Physics.

Reference entries

See all related reference entries in Oxford Index »

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.