Synodical Government

Show Summary Details

Quick Reference

The system of government of the C of E introduced by the Synodical Government Measure 1969, which took effect in 1970. A General Synod took over all the powers of the Church Assembly and some of those of the Convocations. It is comprised of a House of Bishops consisting of the members of the Upper Houses of the Convocations of Canterbury and York, a House of Clergy consisting of the two Lower Houses of the Convocations, somewhat reduced in size, and a House of Laity elected by members of the Houses of Laity of the deanery synods. Matters concerning doctrinal formulas, church services, and the administration of the sacraments can be approved only in terms proposed by the House of Bishops. Diocesan conferences were replaced by diocesan synods, each consisting of the Bishop, the House of Clergy, and the House of Laity. Members of the two latter are mainly elected by the respective Houses of the deanery synods. In 1980 a House of Bishops was constituted; it consists of the diocesan Bishop, every suffragan bishop, and such other bishops working in the diocese as the diocesan Bishop may nominate. The former ruridecanal conferences were replaced by deanery synods. The base of the system remains the electoral roll of each parish from which elections are made to the deanery synod and the parochial church council.

Subjects: Christianity.

Reference entries

Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content. Please, subscribe or login to access all content. subscribe or login to access all content.